It was built by Constantin Brancoveanu in 1960, and it's construction took 3 years. Since 1993 it has been included in the UNESCO patrimony. The legend says that the workers could only work during the night, because they were afraid their enemies, the Turks, will see them. This is how the monastery got it's name, from a species of birds called "huhurez" (eagle owls), who only sing in the night. Because of he's tragic death (he was decapitated, together with he's four sons, because they refused to give up their religion and pass on o Mohammedan religion), The Romanian Orthodox Church declared Constantin a saint, being celebrated on the 16th of August.
At it's beginnings, Horezu use to be a monk monastery, but this changed in 1872, when it became a monastery for nuns. The monastery is visited by more than 60.000 tourists every year, but the greatest pilgrimage is on Easter, a very important holiday for Romanians.
The complex offers accommodation, for those who want to spend a couple of nights here and experience this kind of life. You have the possibility to choose between the 20 accommodation units in a mini-hotel. In 2005, Price Charles of Great Britain spent 3 days in one of the rooms from the monastery.
The church shelters a very valuable assembly of mural painting, executed between 1962 and 1964 by two Greek experts, Constantin and Ioan, and the Romanian handicrafts man Andrei, Stan, Neagoe and Ioachim.
Episcopiei Alley, 1, Horezu, Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
0040- 250 731 170
The photos displayed on this page are the property of one of the following authors:
This travel guide also includes text from Wikitravel articles, all available at View full credits
This travel guide also includes text from Wikipedia articles, all available at View full credits